Marshmallow Ducklings

IMG_2039


This is one of the pictures first, you wish was never taken and second, you wish it never to be seen! Truth ALERT! I was seriously considering doing some editing magic on it. Lets get real…pictures like these …editing does nothing for. Lol

Backstory goes like this:   4th Pregnancy in my final month!  Body literally went on strike.

My body was beyond sore. Felt like I jumped out of a moving car did some amazing ninja super hero moves. Fought off the insidious villain and todays the day after. The day where you literally can feel every muscle in your body. And you know that the world cannot survive without you so you have to get right back out there. 

This is that moment friends! My husband of course walks in right when I’m having my moment. To which he takes a picture! Right as I release my …”Ugggggghhhhh” sigh. You know the one.

Where life happens. We’ve become drained, and everything feels so heavy. Those days we just want to lay in bed and have a Netflix marathon. Where I wish I was my three year old and could have a tantrum just like him wherever and whenever I want. Like ROSS HA!!…sigh 

Or when we have been anticipating something for so long. Working for it so hard. You can see the light at the end of the tunnel and the anticipation but have what seems to be tortoise slow reaction time. I want to sprint to the light, but for some reason there is cement in my shoes. It’s when you are overdue 1 second and you feel like you will NEVER have a baby. To which I hear in my head…from my fairy that tells the truth but makes me irritated cause it’s normally not when I want to hear. ”Timing is everything!” in that high pitch fairy voice.

The Olympic swimmer or track athlete would tell you timing is everything. It’s that .01 second that can determine 1st to 2nd place. A chef would tell you timing is everything. If you sear your meat two minutes too long…that could be the difference between tender and chewy.

I was reminded of this picture this morning because I may not physically look like this right now…but I sure do feel like it. Life is about to change in a good way. We’ve been working and striving ahead out of the trenches for what seems like forever. Now we are in the home stretch of this season and it’s killing me with anticipation. I want it right now. Sometimes I get caught up in the future that I forget to stop and cherish THIS moment. Right now sitting at my desk…my room is WW3. My coffee is now gone in which I pretty much chugged this morning. And just having a moment to plug into this white slate is a blessing. I take for granted my life’s simplicities. When they are another man’s luxury.

I am also at fault for holding on to the past. Carrying hurts, or being more skeptical because of a past experience. Rather than embracing the future with freedom. Not carless embrace…educated yes but judgmental no. Just free.

“I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it,d but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.” – Philippians 3:12-14

This vs. is a perfect reminder. It’s one that’s used a lot in church or studies. But hey why not? It’s true. I used to ski and now I’m in the stage of life where I will teach my kids. I’m the ski instructor in life they are watching. My four marshmallow ducklings following me down the hill skiing behind me and what happens? I eat it….like hard core. Pop off a ski and everything. One poles in Mexico the other in Canada. There in the snow all eyes on me I have a choice. To pack it up walk down the hill cussing my brains out, embarrassed, upset, blaming the equipment or….or I can look at those little eyes and say, “Okkkkay kids. When you eat dirt…this is how we get back up and ski down.”

Press on my friends. If it’s the trench of hell you find yourself sitting in or maybe you are reaching for the light and the timing isn’t there. Don’t lose yourself on the mountain. You are a Hero and where there is a beginning there is an end. This season will close. Hold fast….be encouraged because getting back up and taking that first step is the hardest part. It’s what conditions us. Gives us strength and endurance.

To pictures like these…thank you for reminding me that “Timing is everything”. Never to loose heart no matter how deep the trench or close to the finish line we might be.

Love you friends. ❤

Leave a Reply

